Kano State Honours Its Indigenous Writers

The Kano State Censorship Board (KSCB) in collaboration with the Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA), Kano State Branch, has presented awards to some notable writers in the state in recognition of their immense contributions towards the development of Hausa language and literature. The award presentations which was held on Wednesday 27th May, 2015 at the Ministry of Information, Kano, was chaired by the Honourable Commissioner of Information, Hajiya Ladidi Ibrahim Garko.

Prior to the event, quiz competitions for secondary school students were organised in both English and Hausa literature. The quiz was aimed at promoting reading culture among secondary school students, yielded positive result. Gora Academy Kano, Dawakin Tofa Science College, Kano and Governor’s College, Kano emerged as winners in English segment as first, second and third positions respectively. In the other hand, Dawakin Tofa Science College, Kano, Mairo Tijjani Girls Science Secondary School, Kano and Gora Academy, Kano were winners in Hausa segment as first, second and third positions respectively.

Group photograph of recipients of the awards and students

In his welcome address, the Executive Secretary Kano State Censorship Board, Malam Dahiru Beli welcomed guests to the August gathering. According to him, the Board and ANA Kano had selected the beneficiaries of the awards based on their outstanding literary contributions. While on the other hand, secondary school winners were drawn from ten selected secondary schools within the metropolitan local government areas.

In her remarks, the Commissioner of Information, Hajiya Ladidi expressed her gratitude to the organisers of the event. According to her, the event would, no doubt improve reading and writing among contemporary youth. The Commissioner also expressed her dismay with the way present students communicate in bad writing, using informal text to send information irrespective of whom they are addressing. She hoped the students would learn from the programme and work with it.

While presenting the awards, she congratulated the recipients of the awards for their devoted services especially the renowned writers including those that are dead. The recipients of the awards are; Malam Aminu Kano, Malam Lawal Dambazau, Malam Nasiru Kabara, Professor Ibrahim Yaro Yahaya, Alhaji Bashir Othman Tofa, Professor Abdulkadir Dangambo, Professor Yusuf M. Adamu, Malam Ado Ahmad Gidan Dabino; MON, Rahama Abdulmajid, Bilkisu Yusuf Ali, Radio Kano and Freedom Radio, Kano.

The Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA), Kano state branch has presented an award of excellence to the Executive Governor of Kano, Engineer Dr. Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso for his immense contribution in the development of Education. The former Secretary of ANA Kano, Zaharaddeen Ibrahim Kallah presented the award, which was received by the Commissioner on behalf of the Governor.

While closing the programme, Professor Abdulkadir Dangambo on behalf of the recipients of the awards thanked the organisers of the event for recognising their contribution. According to him, the award will definitely go down in history and motivate them to do more.


Zaharaddeen Ibrahim Kallah





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s