ANA-Kano Elects New Executives

The Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA), Kano State branch, has a new set of Executive Council members after successful and peaceful elections that were held at the American Corner, Murtala Muhammad Library, Kano, on February 12, 2017. The day began with the Annual General Meeting (AGM), where activities that were conducted by the association in the last two years were presented and reviewed.

In his remarks, the outgoing chairman, Badamasi Shu’aibu Burji, thanked the association for giving him the mandate to lead it. According to him, he had taken the mantle of the leadership when other members were running away from the leadership, because of challenges associated with the association. The former chairman used his resources in an effort towards changing the face of the association, even though he had faced serious challenges. He also showed his readiness to work with his successor in the crusade of literature development in the state and beyond.

The outgoing secretary of the association, Al-Mustapha Musa Ilyas, presented the secretary’s report, which gave an account of the activities conducted over the period of their tenure. Some of the achievements recorded are printing of 1,000 copies of anthology of short stories that featured 35 writers across the country, maintaining the Creative Writers’ Fora in both English and Hausa, ANA Kano and National Review Magazine prize award, International Poetry Month Celebration, Kwankwasiyya Literary Festival and participation in Bikin Ranar Marubutan Hausa ta Duniya. This was followed by treasure’s report, presented by Ilyas Umar Maikudi.

Members were allowed to give their opinions and to ask questions relating to the activities undertaken and the status of the association.

At the end of the first session, the outgoing EXCO was dissolved and handed over to the nominated panel of electoral body. The panel was chaired by Ado Ahmad Gidan Dabino (MON), an ex-chairman of ANA Kano, and was assisted by Yahaya Dan Arewa and Fauziyya D. Sulaiman who served as secretary.

A bilingual author and poet, Zaharaddeen Ibrahim Kallah, emerged as the new chairman of ANA Kano. Kallah was among the longest serving EXCO who rose to positions of Auditor I, Welfare Officer, and then Secretary. The new chairman, who is the assistant registrar at Bayero University, Kano is expected to work with his team of EXCO towards leading the association to the greatest height.

The other Executive Council members elected to serve the association include:

Khalid Imam -Vice Chairman

Tijjani Muh’d Musa -Secretary

Sani Abba Sa’idu -Assistant Secretary

Bilkisu Yusuf Ali -Treasurer

Danladi Z. Haruna -Fin Secretary

Badamasi Aliyu Abdullahi -Publicity Secretary (English)

Abdullahi Kangala -Publicity Secretary (Hausa)

Maryam Gatawa -Welfare Officer

Bello Sagir -Legal Adviser

Yaseer Kallah-Auditor I

Abba Shehu Musa -Auditor II

Badamasi S. Burji -Ex-officio

Almustapha Musa Ilyas -Ex-officio

Aysha Umar Sanusi -Ex-officio

Maimuna Idris Beli -Ex-officio

In his acceptance speech, the new Chairman, Kallah, briefly informed members some of his agendas to be implemented over the next two years. According to him, he hopes to strengthen the existing fora and introduce quarterly guest writer parley, Kano literary week, workshops for established and young writers, conference on Hausa literature and award night presentations.

A strong team of delegates from ANA National was at the event to oversee the elections. The team was headed by Malam Isa Dan Musa, who expressed the team’s satisfaction with the process of elections. He congratulated the new EXCO and hoped to see more of literary activities from Kano. Dan Musa also appealed to other writers in the state to join ANA and be regular attendants of ANA national convention in an effort to benefit from the national body. He said the national body of ANA will not work with someone that isolates themselves.

A renowned Hausa poet, Nasiru G. Ahamd ‘Yan Awaki presented a poem to celebrate the victory of the new EXCO and expressed his wishes for a better literary movement that would bring progress to writers.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s